SA Senior Masters, Witbank Golf Club

Event Information:

The 2016 SA Senior Masters finished in dramatic fashion at the Witbank Golf Club. A strong field of 61 senior professional golfers are playing for the coverted trophy as well as the cash prize. First round scores were good considering the greens were slightly stressed with the recent heat wave & were running quite slowly. The SAST welcomes a few new seniors (recently arrived at the 50 mark) to the SA Senior Tour, Andre Cruse, James Kingston & Nico van Rensburg to the fold. May you have lots of success on tour.

SA Senior Masters Results

Leading the pack at the conclusion of the second round were, James Kingston (-6) with former champion, Steve van Vuuren, Bobby Lincoln & John Bland all on (-3). Robbie Stewart (defending champion), Rocky Tlhabanyane & Andre Cruse  followed on (-2).

The final round ended with three players on -4, James Kingston, Andre Cruse & Steve van Vuuren. Lots were drawn & a three way playoff ensued. The players all made par on the 18th hole & they proceeded back to the tee. Both Steve van Vuuren & James Kingston left themselves difficult shots from the tree lined fairway & both left their shots short of the green. Andre Cruse played his tee shot up the ajoining 9th hole & calmly put the ball on the green for two.

Kingston chipped to 4 inches & van Vuuren putted to 3 feet. Cruse took advantage & sunk the birdie put to claim his maiden victory on the SA Senior Tour. James Kingston leaves on Monday for the US Champions.

PosPlayerTotalTo Par
1Andre Cruse212-4
=James Kingston212-4
 =Steve van Vuuren212-4
4Bobby Lincoln213-3
5John Bland2160
 =Robbie Stewart2160
7Mokgateng Mashego2171
8Rocky Tlhabanyane2182
9Jeff Hawkes2193
10Ian Palmer2204
11Neville Clarke2215
12Theo Dauwa2226
 =Michael Green2226
14Matt Mattysen2237
 =Brad Diffenthal2237
 =Laurison Mahlangu2237
 =Derrick Landman2237
18Andre Pistorius2248
 =Mark Bright2248
 =Thomas Mashimbi2248
21Nico van Rensburg2259
 =Derek James2259
23Paul van Biljon22711
 =Arnie Kemp22711
26Mike de Villiers22812
27Greg Smith22913
28Jannie Ackerman23014
29Veli Hlope23216
 =Gordon Millar23216
 =Rob van Velzen23216
32Derrick Lekoma23317
33Thomas Mhlambi23418
 =Benedict Matsoso23418
 =Nelson Mwale23418
36Andy Shackleton23519
 =Norman Mashaba23519
 =Robbie Sham23519
39Steve Senekal23620
40Freddie Mkwanazi23721
41Dick Ndebele23822
42Solly Mokgare23923
43Craig Lewthwaite24024
44David Kleinbooi24428
45Gabriel Putsoe24529
46Paul van Zyl24832