2019 Solar Mining Services SA Senior Masters

Event Information:

The 2019 Solar Mining Services SA Senior Masters was held at the Silver Lakes Golf Estate from 7-9 November. The prize fund of  R400,000  will be shared amongst a star studded field of 45 Senior Professionals who make the cut after the first two rounds. This year, the event has reverted to the three round, 54-hole format, with a Pro-Am on the first two days (7th & 8th). Teams consisting of three Amateurs & 1 Professional play as a team on each of these two Pro-Am days. (Results for the teams for these first two rounds are below).  Defending his title is the legendary Mark McNulty, who he will have his work cut out for him as there is a star studded field taking part.

Day 3: The third & final round got off to an early start as bad weather was predicted for the afternoon. After the first 9 holes James Kingston was 1 under & on -10 for the tournament & Mark McNulty was level & on -9. Gary Thompson, from Zimbabwe, made a dash on the front nine with a 34 to be -3 after nine holes. After a tussle on the course with the wind playing a role, Mark McNulty crept ahead of James Kingston to claim his second Senior Masters title on 67, 68 & 74 (-7). James Kingston finished on 66, 69, 75 (-6) a single stroke behind. (Full results below)

Day 2: At the close of play of the second round, Mark McNulty & James Kingston were both on 135 (-9). Rocky Tlhabanyane shot out of the starting blocks with opening birdies  & finished with a 66 (the best score of the day) to end on 138 (-6).  Next best is Andre Cruse on 142 (-2) followed by Henry Roodt & Callie Swart 143 (-1).

There was a cut after the second round to the top 45 players (see result below).  These professionals will compete on Saturday 9th November for the coveted trophy. Tee times will be in the morning on the final day as rain storms are expected in the afternoon (see draw below).

Day 1: Weather conditions on the first day were hot with a slight wind. The course was immaculate & set up to allow for good scoring. The Senior Professionals took advantage of the conditions to produce some low scores. James Kingston, fresh off his SA Senior Open win last week, completed the first round in 66 (-6) as did Silver Lakes Club Captain, Henry Roodt on 66 (-6). Chasing them are defending champion, Mark McNulty 67 (-5), Callie Swart 68 (-4), Kevin Stone, Nic Henning, Theo Dauwa & Andre Cruse all finished on 69 (-3). Steve van Vuuren 70 (-2), then Neil Cheetham, Laurison Mahlangu, Chris Davison & Andy Shackleton all finished the round on 71 (-1). (Full results are below).

Thank you to all our valuable sponsors for their contribution to the success of this years Solar Mining Services SA Senior Masters.
Eastside Coal; Emivista; C&R Enterprises; FRA Coal; Go Go Fruit; HMS; JLW Financial Services; Sudor Coal; SG Coal; VZLR Attorneys; Plantocor; RMB; Mpumalanga Coal Supplies; Ponac; IPP Mining; Mercuria Energy; Jo-Al; Velile Tinto;

2019 – SA Senior Masters Final results

Team Results:

PosPlayerCompany (2)Team Score 2
1James KingstonJWL Financial Services98
2AP BotesSudor Coal93
3Nico van RensburgEmivista 192
4Laurison MahlanguSG Coal92
5Gerhard ScheepersVZLR Attorneys91
6Ian PalmerSA Senior Tour Invitational 190
7Gary ThompsonGo Go Fruits88
=Theo DauwaPlantcor88
9Mike QuinnSolar 288
10Ben FoucheeRMB87
11Rocky TlhabanyaneVelile Tinto85
12Steve van VuurenEmivista 284
13Mokgeteng MashegoMpumalanga Coal Supplies84
14Kevin StoneEastside Coal 283
15Mark McNultySolar 482
16Chris DavisonSolar 381
17Henry RoodtSolar 581
18Brad DiffenthalFRA Coal80
19Jannie AckermanPonac80
20Michael GreenJo-Al79
21Callie SwartSA Senior Tour Invitational 278
22Neville ClarkeC&R Enterprises75
23Rodger GovenderIPP Mining75
24John BlandHMS74
25Bobby LincolnMercuria Energy72
26Nic HenningEastside Coal 169

Professional Results:

PosPlayerRnd 1Rnd 2Rnd 3TotalTo Par
1Mark McNulty676874209-7
2James Kingston666975210-6
3Gary Thompson727171214-2
4Andre Cruse6973742160
=Callie Swart6875732160
=Theo Dauwa6976712160
7Kevin Stone6976722171
8Neil Cheetham7174742193
=Steve van Vuuren7077722193
=Michael Green7275722193
11Rocky Tlhabanyane7266832215
=Nic Henning6976762215
13Andy Shackleton7173782226
=Rob van Velzen7573742226
15Laurison Mahlangu7177752237
=Mike Quinn7575732237
17Roy da Costa7373782248
=Chris Davison7374772248
19Andre Pistorius72777722610
=AP Botes78767222610
=Dick Ndebele73767722610
=Rodger Govender74757722610
=Bobby Lincoln74777522610
=Ben Fouchee73787522610
25Henry Roodt66778422711
=Akil Yousuf74747922711
=John Bland76777422711
=Ian Palmer79707822711
29Didier Plassan77757622812
=Vaughan Fallick72787822812
31Brad Diffenthal75827222913
32Johan Wolfaardt76738123014
=Dean van Staden79767523014
=Mark Bright79737823014
35Gerhard Scheepers77797523115
36Mokgeteng Mashego74798023317
=Nico van Rensburg80738023317
38Eddie Joubert76797923418
39Derek Ferreira78787923519
40Peter Banda80758123620
=Neville Clarke74798323620
42Robbie Sham77817923721
=Derrick Lekoma76798223721
44Alan Smith79817923923
45Vusi Mahlangu76788624024