2019 Simon Hobday Classic

Event Information:

The second edition of the Simon Hobday Classic, at the Dainfern Golf Estate from 13-15 November has been completed.

Final round:  James Kingston opened with a drop shot on his first hole today but birdied the 11th & 12th before dropping at  the par 4 15th, to finish his round on 1 over par 73. Bobby Lincoln also fumbled at the opening hole but managed to regroup with birdies at the 3rd, 8th, 12th, 13th & 14th to finish with a 70, 2 under par. Neil Cheetham tried to catch the leading pair but had 6 drop shots & 2 birdies to finish with a 74. First round leader, Peter Wilson, managed a 73 today with 2 drops & a single birdie.

After all three rounds James Kingston successfully defended his title with scores of 69, 65 & 72 – 207 (_9) In second place, only 1 stroke adrift, was Bobby Lincoln 67, 71 & 70 – 208 (-8). Third spot went to Neil Cheetham on 68, 68 & 74 – 210 (-6). Peter Wilson, Nic Henning & Gary Thompson all finished on 211 (-5). Kevin Stone & Andre Cruse ended on 212 (-4) while Callie Swart finished on 213 (-3).

Day 2: James Kingston had the low score of the day with a 65 to finish the second round on 134 (-10). Neil Cheetham shot 68 to finish the second round on 136 (-8). Overnight leader, Peter Wilson had a mixed round today with a 74 to complete the second round on 138 (-6). The other players on 6 under par are Bobby Lincoln & Gary Thompson. Andre Cruse & Kevin Stone are on 139 (-5).  At the end of play today there was a cut to the top 45 professionals. Those making the cut are listed in the result & the draw.

Day 1:  Peter Wilson, on his return from the UK, shot the round of the day 64 (-8) with Andre Cruse & Bobby Lincoln both on 67 (-5).  Neil Cheetham & Gary Thompson had 68 (-4) while Laurison Mahlangu, Rob van Velzen, James Kingston & Kevin Stone all finished on 69 (-3). Also under par are Mark Bright & Callie Swart on 70 (-2) and Angus Dickson, Veli Hlophe & Nic Henning are on 71 (-1).

The first round Pro-Am took place today & the format was Better Ball Medal. The scores were low and the winning team consisted of Bobby Lincoln & Errol Eve on 55 nett.  Well played to all teams.

2019 – Simon Hobday Classic Final results

Team Results:

1Bobby LincolnErrol Eve55
2Robbie ShamAlan58
3Johan WolfaardtGabriel Reeder59
4Freddie MkwanaziDylan Knibbs62
5Didier PlassanPaul Case62
6Nic HenningStephen Watts62
7Ian PalmerMichael Kennedy63
8Andre CruseJohn Laskarides63
9Mokgeteng MashegoPatrick Madlala63
10Kevin StoneBrandon Stone (+6)64
Nearest the Pin # 4Robert Alexander
Nearest the Pin # 6Ben Zeelie
Nearest the Pin # 11Terry Pettit
Nearest the Pin # 16Alan Fraser
Longest Drive # 18Ben Zeelie

Professional Results:

PosProfessionalRnd 1Rnd 2Rnd 3TotalTo Par
1James Kingston696573207-9
2Bobby Lincoln677170208-8
3Neil Cheetham686874210-6
4Peter Wilson647473211-5
=Nic Henning717070211-5
=Gary Thompson687073211-5
7Kevin Stone697073212-4
=Andre Cruse677273212-4
9Callie Swart707172213-3
10Chris Williams7472702160
11Rob van Velzen6976732182
12Roy da Costa7576692204
=Rodger Govender7373742204
14Mark Bright7073782215
=Mokgeteng Mashego7571752215
=Henry Roodt7671742215
17Chris Davison7575722226
=Rocky Tlhabanyane7375742226
19Steve van Vuuren7471782237
20Neville Clarke7575742248
=Ben Fouchee7675732248
=Derrick Lekoma7478722248
=Dean van Staaden7275772248
=Akil Yousuf7374772248
25Johan Wolfaardt7278752259
=Langley Perrins7470812259
=Brad Diffenthal7572782259
=Ian Palmer7375772259
=Gerhard Scheepers7479722259
30Andy Shackleton74747922711
=Didier Plassan74797422711
32Mike Quinn77718022812
=Jeff Hawkes78757522812
=Matt Mattysen78767422812
35Michael Green74758022913
=John Dickson76767722913
=Angus Dickson71778122913
38Barry Bothma72817723014
=Robbie Sham75807523014
40Dick Ndebele72807923115
41Peter Banda78757923216
=Johan Engelbrecht80757723216
43Veli Hlophe76758423519
=Vusi Mahlangu74788323519
45Laurison Mahlangu69848323620