2017 PowerTrain Classic

Event Information:

The 2017 PowerTrain Classic has just taken place again being hosted by Derrick Landman & his team at the Middleburg Country Club.

Dates are: 11th – 13th November

The 30 teams of three Amateurs are joined by a Senior Professional & play in an Alliance format for the first two days. Always a big thank you to all the teams who make the event possible.
The overall winning team was “Darryl Hilton” on 194 points. Well played to your team.

The Professionals played Strokeplay for the full three rounds for a prize fund of R150,000.
Can anyone beat last year’s winning score of -12 posted by Chris Williams?
After two rounds the leader was Callie Swart (-11), followed by Neil Cheetham (-10) & then defending champion, Chris Willilams (-8).

Final round saw the overnight leader, Callie Swart, being chased by Neil Cheetham who birdied the 2nd, 5th & 7th to nudge ahead. Callie birdied the 2nd & 7th. Then he dropped 2 shots at the par 3, 11th & went level for the rest of the round. Neil dropped a shot at the par 4, 10th & again at the par 4, 15th. Neil finally edged Callie out by a single stroke to finish on -12.
This score equals that of Chris Williams, the defending champion, who finished on -10 in third place.

2017 PowerTrain Classic Results:

Team Results:

PosTeam NameDay 1Day 2Total
1Darryl Hilton9797194
2Mercedes Benz Workshop9995194
3Ou Toppie Team9598193
5Powertrain Singles9496190
6SS Sport9394187
8Powertrain Truck Spares 19689185
=RDG 29392185
10C&R Enterprises9388181
=Pack Solve Group8794181
=Sky Quest9487181
13Villa Funchal Restaurant8793180
14Powertrain Truck Spares 29287179
=Toyota Middleburg8594179
=Witbank Nissan8690176
17MCC Proshop8788175
20Dr Manga8885173
=Powertrain Vryheid 28588173
22Delport Gearbox9082172
=Powertrain Vryheid 38785172
25BDJ Freight International8185166
=Powertrain Vryheid 18680166
27PK Bus8777164
28Sasol Meyer Street8577162
29Wilfy Pearce8079159
30RDG 17578153

Professional Results:

1CHEETHAM, Neil-12647070204
2SWART, Callie-11646972205
3WILLIAMS, Chris-10676970206
4VAN VUUREN, Steve-8677071208
T5TLHABANYANE, Rocky-2737269214
T5CRUSE, Andre-2727171214
7GOVENDER, Rodger-1677276215
8DIFFENTHAL, BradPar677376216
9LINCOLN, Bobby+1776971217
T10STEWART, Robbie+3737373219
T10MATTYSEN, Matt+3727077219
T10HLOPHE, Veli+3717177219
T13GREEN, Michael+4757471220
T13DAUWA, Theo+4757075220
T13VAN VELZEN, Rob+4737473220
T16HAWKES, Jeff+7767473223
T16MASHEGO, Mokgeteng+7747574223
T16SHACKLETON, Andy+7737773223
T16CLARKE, Neville+7717676223
20BOTES, AP+10767377226
21STALLENBERG, Lindley+11708077227
T22VAN BILJON, Paul+12797574228
T22SCHEEPERS, Gerhad+12787872228
T22WOLFAARDT, Johan+12747876228
T25FERREIRA, Derek+18807678234
T25KEMP, Arnie+18777978234
T25LANDMAN, Derrick+18747684234
T28JOUBERT, Eddie+19798175235
T28TSHABALALA , Lucky+19777781235
30ZULU, Sydney+21747984237
31MKWANAZI, Freddie+24768084240
32ENGELBRECHT, Schalk+25798082241
33MHLAMBI, Thomas+28837982244
34MASHABA, Norman+30838083246
35MWALE, Nelson+32808682248
T36KLEINBOOI, David+34808585250
T36SINGH, Ranjith+34788785250
38SHIBAMBO, Solly+57809598273